WHAT STATES ALLOW CULTIVATION OF CANNABIS?

Cannabis laws around the U.S. are taking shape and finally starting to see positive reform. Thankfully some political leaders in some states are starting to realize the importance that cannabis holds for society in general.

Through the perseverance of education, and by sharing factual knowledge and information, minds are being changed on a continual basis. The following are the laws as they were written as of September 21, 2016. Unfortunately, some of these laws have changed for the worse while only a few have changed for the better.

This shows the importance of spreading factual information so that people are allowed to make informed decisions on their own and not believe the propaganda that is still being spread by political leaders in the pockets of private special interest groups.

Here are the laws state-by-state that allow cannabis beyond the form of just CBD.

Alaska Ballot Measure 8 was passed in 1998 by 58% of voters, allowing for one ounce of usable cannabis and 6 plants. Adults can legally cultivate 3 mature and 3 immature plants at any given time.

Arizona passed Proposition 203 in 2010 with 50.13% of the vote, allowing for 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis and up to 12 plants to be cultivated at home by medical marijuana patients.

California passed Proposition 215 in 1996 by 56% of voters allowing for 8 ounces of usable cannabis. Proposition 215 allows MMJ patients to grow six mature plants or 12 immature plants at one time.

Colorado passed Ballot Amendment 20 in 2000 and Amendment 64 in 2012. These allow for adults (patients or not) to grow 6 plants, with three being mature and three immature at any given time.

Connecticut passed House Bill 5389 in 2012, allowing for 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis but has no growing laws in place for patients.

Delaware passed Senate Bill 17 in 2011, allowing for 6 ounces of usable cannabis but has no laws in place allowing patients to grow cannabis.

Hawaii passed Senate Bill 862 in 2000 allowing for 4 ounces of usable cannabis. Medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow 7 plants.

Illinois passed House Bill 1 in 2013, allowing for patients to possess 2.5 ounces of cannabis which should be used within a 14-day period. There are currently no laws allowing MMJ patients to grow cannabis.

Maine passed Ballot Question 2 in 1999, allowing MMJ patients to possess 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis. Adult patients are also allowed to grow 6 plants.

Maryland passed House Bill 881 in 2014, allowing for patients to possess a 30-day supply with an amount to be determined. They currently have no laws in place allowing patients to grow cannabis.

Massachusetts passed Ballot Question 3 by 63% of voters in 2012, allowing for a 60-day supply of up to 10 ounces for personal medical use. They currently have no laws in place allowing adult patients to grow cannabis.

Michigan passed Proposal 1 in 2008 with 63% of voter’s support. This allowed for 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis. Adult patients are allowed to grow 12 plants.

Montana passed initiative 148 in 2004, allowing for one ounce of usable cannabis. Adults are allowed to grow 4 plants to maturity and have 12 seedlings at any time.

Nevada passed Ballot Question # 9 by 65% of voters in 2000 allowing for 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis. Adult patients are allowed to grow up to 12 plants.

New Hampshire passed House Bill 573 in 2013, allowing for 2 ounces of usable cannabis during a 10-day period. New Hampshire currently does not have laws allowing patients to grow cannabis.

New Jersey passed Senate Bill 119 in 2010, allowing adults to have two ounces of usable cannabis. They currently have no laws allowing adult patients to grow cannabis.

New Mexico passed Senate Bill 523 in 2007, allowing six ounces of usable cannabis for patients. Adult patients are allowed to have 16 plants with 4 mature plants and 12 immature plants at any one time.

New York passed assembly bill 6357 in 2014, allowing for a 30-day supply of nonsmokable marijuana. New York currently does not have any laws allowing patients to grow cannabis.

Ohio passed House Bill 523 in 2016, allowing for a maximum of a 90-day supply of cannabis with the amount to be determined. Ohio currently does not have laws in place allowing patients to grow cannabis.

Oregon passed Ballot Measure 67 in 1998 and Measure 91 in 2014. These allow for patients to grow 6 mature and 18 immature plants, and for recreational consumers over the age of 21 to cultivate 4 plants in one residence.

Pennsylvania passed Senate Bill 3 in 2016, allowing for a 30-day supply of cannabis. Pennsylvania currently does not have laws in place allowing patients to grow cannabis.

Rhode Island passed Senate Bill 0710, allowing for patients to possess 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis. Adult medical marijuana patients in Rhode Island are allowed to grow 12 plants at any one time.

Vermont passed Senate Bill 76 in 2004, allowing for patients to possess 2 ounces of usable cannabis. Adult patients are allowed to grow 9 plants at any one time with two being mature and seven being immature.

Washington State passed Initiative 692 in 1998 for medical purposes and Initiative 502 in 2012. MMJ patients in Washington State are allowed to grow up to 15 plants at one time however recreational consumers are not allowed to cultivate their own.

Hawai’i seemed ahead of the game when it came to legalization. In 2000, Governor Benjamin Cayetano signed Act 228 into law, making Hawai’i the first state to legalize medical cannabis via legislature, as opposed to voter initiative. The new law allowed cardholding patients or caregivers to grow cannabis. But, despite strenuous efforts by patients and advocacy groups, it was a full 15 years before the legislature addressed the issue of how a patient might buy medical cannabis. And even now…

Continue reading →